Facebook introduces new security measures that kicks out spammers

Users will be able to use IP info to confirm if their account has been hacked in to and reset passwords

Article comments

Facebook users will soon have a new way of knocking spammers out of legitimate accounts.

The social-networking company is rolling out a new security feature that lets users see which computers and devices are logged into their Facebook accounts, and then removing the ones that they don't want to have access.

The move addresses a growing problem on Facebook. Spammers use fake phishing sites to trick Facebook users into entering their usernames and passwords, and then they use those credentials to send spam messages to as many Facebook friends as possible.

Facebook introduces new security measures to kick out spammersThis type of spam is often very effective because it looks like it's coming from a trusted source (a Facebook friend), and security experts say that many spammers have now developed automated programs that log into stolen Facebook accounts and send spam. Just last week, scammers used hacked Facebook accounts to spam Facebook users with bogus Free iPad offers.

In addition to knocking out spammers, this new feature also gives users a way of logging out of machines that they've recently used a library computer or a friend's mobile phone.

Not everyone will be able to use this new feature immediately, as it's being rolled out "gradually," Facebook said in an e-mail message. Users who have been granted the login control feature can see it by going to Account Settings and then looking for it in the Account Security Section.

There, they can see the different computers currently logged into Facebook, which browser and operating system they use and based on Internet Protocol information -- a guess at where they are located. With the click of a button, the user can "end activity" on any of these sessions.

Someone whose account has been hacked could use this information to confirm that her account had been compromised and then reset her password.

"It provides you with a visual indication of which devices currently have sessions open with your user profile," said Andrew Walls, research director with the Gartner analysis firm.

The feature is a follow-up to a login notification feature that Facebook introduced last May, which alerts users when different devices log into their accounts, he said.


Share:

Comments

Advertisement
Send to a friend

Email this article to a friend or colleague:


PLEASE NOTE: Your name is used only to let the recipient know who sent the story, and in case of transmission error. Both your name and the recipient's name and address will not be used for any other purpose.


We use cookies to provide you with a better experience. If you continue to use this site, we'll assume you're happy with this. Alternatively, click here to find out how to manage these cookies

hide cookie message

ComputerworldUK Knowledge Vault

ComputerworldUK
Share
x
Open
* *